Editing permissions for custom roles
You can change the permissions associated with a custom role.
There are a few ways in which you can change a role's permissions:
- Add permissions that were not assigned when the role was created
- Assign permissions when new features are added to the Secure Endpoint Console
- Revoke permissions
- Assign Dual Approval limits
To edit permissions for a custom role:
- Log in to the Secure Endpoint Console as a System Administrator.
- On the navigation bar, click
Settings >
User management > Roles. -
On the Roles sidebar under Custom, click the role you want to change permissions for. The Permissions page opens in the work area. The symbols indicate the following:
Permission is assigned to the role.
Permission is not assigned to the role. - Permission is not assigned to any role (i.e., not applicable). - Click
Edit permission. -
Update the role's feature permissions by doing the following:
- To assign view and export (if applicable) permissions for a feature, select the View checkbox.
- To assign view, export (if applicable), and edit permissions for a feature, select the Manage checkbox. The View checkbox is selected automatically.
- To assign Activate, Publish, Run, or Perform permissions for a feature, select the feature's applicable Other Actions checkbox. If a View checkbox is associated with the feature, select it as well.
- To revoke a permission, clear its checkbox.
-
Update the role's dual approval limits by doing the following:
- In the Approval column, click the limit button beside the device action. The Limit details dialog opens.
-
Select one of the following options from the drop-down:
- No approval required
- Daily limit
- Always required
- If you selected Daily limit, enter the number of devices that can be included in requests before approval is required.
- If you selected Daily limit or Always required, select Approver beside the user roles that can approve requests created by the selected custom role.
- If you selected Daily limit or Always required, select Notify beside the user roles that will be notified when there are requests that require approval created by the selected custom role.
- Click outside of the Limit details dialog.
- Repeat the configuration for each device action you want to add limits to.
- Click .
The role is updated, and a Role updated event is logged to Event History.




